4G TL (2009-2014)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Newbie to AZ community-advice needed please!!

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2013, 01:14 AM
Advanced

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Newbie to AZ community-advice needed please!!

Hello to all AZ members
Im new to AZ forum, if I post an old thread please forgive!
I just a bought a 2009 TL base with no rear deck lid and I would like to install one on my TL.
I'm looking to buy one as soon as I get some advices from AZ members.
I have been looking online for a deck lid wether from eBay of aftermarket brand or Oem from Acura dealers but could not decided yet because I have no experience with either ones. My situation is trying to save some money for some other mods in the near future as well.
I found one on eBay with a painted deck lid for my TL color for $138 free shipping and one from DCH Acura dealer for $300 with $12 shipping.
Any members have experienced the aftermarket brand and how is the color matches? Is it ok to put it on with just the automotive grade 3M adhesive without drilling the holes, would it survive in the rough cold weather in the MIdwest?
I'm so undecided right now because of lack experience.
Any inputs are greatly appreciated.
Old 04-16-2013, 05:02 AM
Drifting

Received 672 Likes on 542 Posts
Sorry,i can't comment on the quality of the aftermarket spoiler,however i can tell you that the original unit is mounted with bolts and adhesive.Personally i would not use two way tape alone to mount it.
The following users liked this post:
TLJVN (04-17-2013)
Old 04-16-2013, 06:29 AM
Drifting

Received 416 Likes on 365 Posts
Also remember you need the accessory trunk spoiler not the one that comes on tech package and up models. That being said I don't know how much it cost but I think I get arranged for you to get it for less than 312.
TLJVN (04-16-2013)
Old 04-16-2013, 06:39 AM
Pro

Received 94 Likes on 91 Posts