need help between AWD vs FWD on used 2012 TL

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2015, 07:43 AM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
need help between AWD vs FWD on used 2012 TL

Hello guys,

I got two offers:
2012 TL FWD - 48000 miles, for about 19,000 USD OBO Black on Black.
2012 TL SH-AWD - 43000 miles, for firm 25,000 USD, Black on Black. Brand new tires (all look same style), less than 1000 miles and oil change 1500 miles ago.

The only difference I can see is drive train, I'm a contractor, developer and may have to move to a different part of USA (my preference will be no snow or less snow like North Carolina). But I never know, where I'll end up.

Please advise me on which one to choose..!
Should I spend the 6k-7k difference for Drivetrain?

I already own a motorcycle and I love it, if it is not raining or snowing, I prefer motorcycle, but I need to tow the motorcycle sometimes for track days. Sometimes, 2 motorcycles, mine and my friend's.
So, ~160 lbs X 2 = 320 lbs
Bikes ~425 lbs each = 850 lbs
Trailer hitch/tongue = ~200 lbs
Trailer =~ 400lbs
Track suit and other luggage ~100 lbs
My friends own a Lexus (300+), FWD and he is happy towing his bike with above similar stats. He suggests me to go with FWD, due to price difference. I came here to check with you guys.

Either of these cars, what should I get checked after purchase?
Tires, brakes, fluids, oil and filter, anything else?
I requested both the owners whether they can take it to ~108 point check from Acura, pre-purchase check. They both agreed, so, once I decide which car, I'll send that car to dealer. It'll cost me around 135$.

AWD has 7k miles or April 2016, remaining factory warranty, not sure about FWD yet.
Is the extended warranty worth spending my money on it?

Thanks in advance!
Old 11-29-2015, 07:44 AM
Cruisin'

I'm new to this forum, Please respond that someone can actually see my post.
Thanks.
Old 11-29-2015, 07:45 AM
Senior Moderator

Received 2,182 Likes on 1,210 Posts