Honda Dealer for Acura Timing Belt Service?

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2018, 04:00 PM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Honda Dealer for Acura Timing Belt Service?

Hello all:
I'm new to this forum so please excuse if this question has been raised in the past. I own a 2010 TL with only 60,000 miles. Because I am about an hour and 40 miles from the nearest Acura dealer in New Orleans, I usually service the vehicle at a local Honda dealership. I'm talking about typical services like oil, filer, brakes, etc. When I took the car in a few days ago for an oil change, I was told the timing belt tensioner was leaking and the service adviser suggested I go for their "Timing Belt Package," which includes a new belt, tensioner, water pump, etc. at a price of $990. I told them I would think about it and let them know. I'm no mechanic, but I do know that belt tensioners do not leak, so I assume they saw a gasket leaking when they dropped the oil pan. I called my Acura dealer and they want $1500 for the same service and $1700 if they replace the spark plugs.

Sorry for the long entry. So the question is whether an Acura dealer is better equipped to service the belt tensioner issue than a Honda dealer. Are the vehicles and engines more or less the same? I'd appreciate opinions and also comments on the prices I've been given. I live in Northshore, Louisiana; my dealer is in New Orleans and the Honda dealer is a few miles from me.
Old 05-01-2018, 04:16 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 166 Likes on 125 Posts
All Honda/Acura J series engines are similar, the Honda dealership should be able to handle it.

On another note, why did they have to drop your oil pan?
Old 05-01-2018, 04:26 PM
Drifting

Received 853 Likes on 606 Posts