2009 Acura TL Transmission Problems

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2020, 10:31 PM
5th Gear

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Exclamation 2009 Acura TL Transmission Problems

Hi everyone, I’m new to the Acura world and let say it didn’t start off with the best of luck.

I just bought an Acura TL 2009 3.5L and I had the surprise to find that the transmission is defective. Let’s say I checked with 4 garages already and their recommendation is to replace the whole transmission. I do know a few basic things in mechanics but I have no idea how a transmission works or what needs to be done.

My questions:
  • What year transmission is compatible with my 2009 Acura TL? (from 2009 to 2014)
  • Will it be easier and cheaper to replace the whole transmission or take the time to dismantle it and find the source of the problem?
  • Do you, by any chance, know any good and reliable mechanic in Montreal area that would be able to help me with the situation?
  • I read few post on the forum and one of them stated that I must reset the new transmission to the vehicle. Is that something my mechanic can do or I would have to go to my local dealership?

Really appreciate your feedback.
Old 09-02-2020, 01:42 PM
Gang Gang

Received 35 Likes on 31 Posts
Originally Posted by Yous
Hi everyone, I’m new to the Acura world and let say it didn’t start off with the best of luck.

I just bought an Acura TL 2009 3.5L and I had the surprise to find that the transmission is defective. Let’s say I checked with 4 garages already and their recommendation is to replace the whole transmission. I do know a few basic things in mechanics but I have no idea how a transmission works or what needs to be done.

My questions:
  • What year transmission is compatible with my 2009 Acura TL? (from 2009 to 2014)
  • Will it be easier and cheaper to replace the whole transmission or take the time to dismantle it and find the source of the problem?