Yet another RSB Question...

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2011 | 04:25 PM
TL-S

Yet another RSB Question...

Hey guys,

I've been thinking about upgrading my RSB after reading about how some of you all love it; but I've got a few questions.

First off, I have a 04' Base 5AT. Currently, All the suspension is stock.

Should I upgrade to a Type-S rear sway bar or the Progress? the TL is my daily driver and I have no plans to run it on a track or anything. I've read that the Progress is adjustible but I'm not sure I need that. The price difference between the two is about 100 bucks.

Also, if I upgrade to either one of those RSB's, should I also do the FSB? Why/why not?

I've also been thinking about dropping the car on some H&R springs with the stock shocks; if that makes any difference..

I'm new to all this suspension stuff; so I'm not 100% sure what I should do...

Thanks!
Old 05-15-2011 | 08:19 PM
AZ Community Team

The Progress bar is definelty a big step. But I'd do that over the Type-S bar; you'd probably feel some improvement, but not sure it would be that much.

The CompTech bar is in between, that'd be worth it if you find one at the right price.

If you're not going track your car or go all Fast & Furious on the street, don't even think about the FSB. It's too much trouble for daily driving and an occasional quick on/off ramp.

H&R springs would be a nice addition. They complement the RSB upgrade and provide a nice, but moderate drop while keeping the ride pretty decent.
Old 05-15-2011 | 08:28 PM
TL-S

Thanks!

I read some posts about over/understeer and stuff like that with only the RSB. Will that be a problem for me? I'm not understanding some of the posts I read 100%....

I may just go progress since resale value will be much higher on that if I get bored/decide i dont like it
Old 05-15-2011 | 08:39 PM
Instructor

I have a Type-S RSB on my 5AT and it is fine and inexpensive.
Old 05-15-2011 | 08:41 PM
AZ Community Team