Soft Tires!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2007, 01:03 AM
King of NYC

Received 217 Likes on 154 Posts
Soft Tires!!

I have the OEM Yokohama AVS ES100s on my 18" A-Spec wheels. I realize the tire is W-rated and the rubber is soft but these tires are SOFT!! Maybe I'm not used to it because this is the first car I've owned with high-performance tires. Thing is, I know quite a bit about tires. I used to sell them. I know tires like these can wear out in 30k miles but I am a careful driver and try to be conscious about extending tire life.

They have been wearing suuuper quickly lately and the car has been driven about 1500 miles/month. I only been using the wheels for the summer, I use the stock 17s for winter. I put the wheels on in April (4 months ago...less than 6k miles ago) and they had a tread depth of at least 8-9/32nds at the time. Now the front tires look like this:

The rear tires are OK and are wearing normally at about 6-7/32nds. It's these fronts that are wearing fast. The shoulder of the tire is seeing more advanced wear. I will of course rotate the tires. This could also happen with underinflation but the pressure is closely checked and always 39/36psi. I think the alignment is fine, my car is not even a year old and has hit 17k miles.

The tires are so soft I can literally rub the tire really hard with my fingers and the rubber actually rubs off on my skin?? Kinda like a pencil eraser! Also on close inspection (2nd pic) I see actual "cracks" or cuts in the rubber?? I don't know if it's maybe because of sharp surfaces actually cutting/piercing the tire because it's so soft?? ( I don't travel on gravel roads at all, I live in downtown Chicago.) I've never seen this appearance on a tire.

Or is it dry rotting? I see possible signs of this by little wrinkles here and there. The wheels/tires were used so I don't know their age. But they can't be older than 4 yrs. old. I don't think that is old enough to make an issue.