Rear Brake Issues:Burning Smell, Resistance on Driver Side Rear Wheel, Seized Caliper

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2017, 06:28 PM
Instructor

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Rear Brake Issues:Burning Smell, Resistance on Driver Side Rear Wheel, Seized Caliper

2007 Acura TL Base

Parking brake lever moves up about an inch or two, but there is heavy resistance. There are no audible clicks at any point in time even when I really try to pull up. Based on other threads, it seems like I should be hearing 6 to 8 fairly audible clicks. I tried looking up youtube videos on the lever, but I couldn't find any examples as to how it's supposed to move and sound.

At times on the road, I feel like the brakes are almost proactively trying to engage as soon as I let off the accelerator. Almost as if i'm driving a hybrid with those regenerative electric car brakes.

Any suggestions? Is it possible the parking brake is permanently engaged? Gas mileage seems a bit low, but i'm new to this car.
Old 09-16-2017, 06:56 PM
Instructor

I've also noticed some sort of burning smell occasionally on both rear wheels.
Old 09-16-2017, 07:30 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 8,584 Likes on 6,630 Posts
Your e brake mechanism in the rear needs maintenance
Old 09-16-2017, 07:47 PM
Instructor

Originally Posted by thoiboi
Your e brake mechanism in the rear needs maintenance
is it something i could do myself? like spray some PB blaster on something that is seized?
Old 09-16-2017, 07:48 PM
Senior Moderator

Um.. these are your brakes we are talking about. they're located in the rear brake drum behind the disc . you have to take it apart and examine what the problem is. It could be a number of things . If you're not comfortable with DIY, I'd suggest taking it to a mechanic
Old 09-16-2017, 08:38 PM
Instructor

Originally Posted by thoiboi