Need Help quickly!!! 07 TL-Type S 6MT, Major Problems

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2007, 08:20 PM
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need Help quickly!!! 07 TL-Type S 6MT, Major Problems

Hey guys,
I am new to using forums, but am completely stuck and don't know what to do, so am looking for an assistance problem. My 6 speed manual is not working properly, if at all and the dealership is telling me its my fault. It started a couple days ago, when I was driving on the highway, and attempted to shift the car into 4th gear to pass, able to what would have been matching RPMs perfectly, the car would not physically allow my to put the car in 4th gear. The next day, when I want to drive my baby, the car would shift into first, but the shift lever needed an abnormally large amount of force to shift the car out of, 1st gear, and so fourth through the gears, and felt as if, even though the clutch was depressed, the flywheel was not actually disengaged from the transmission. Almost the exact opposite of the you would assume a burnt clutch would do. The car has never been abused, it is an 07 TYPE-S with 5,126 miles on it. The dealership, attempted the "change the transmission oil fix" told me the car was fixed, on my request they test drove it again, and told me it wasn't, obviously this was not going to fix the issues I was having. They now tell me the clutch is toast, because of fiber they see when they removed the inspection plate. The car has never been abused, and I have never even smelt a hint of burning clutch. They want me to authorize $800 for tear down, and that they are assuming it is my fault, but this is only to see if there are burn spots on the clutch, not even begin the repair, once they confirm the issue was "caused" by me. What do I do? What could the problem actually be? HELP!!!
Thanks guys,
Brian
Old 06-29-2007, 09:44 PM
Team Owner

Received 1,137 Likes on 1,067 Posts
See other threads on bad pressure plate on the new cars causing excess wear