Battery and factory alarm

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2010, 08:30 AM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Battery and factory alarm

This is my first time posting so sorry if these questions have been answered before.
I have an 04 Acura TL, lately my "panic alarm" has been randomly going off. At first I thought it was only when my doors were locked but, now it's been doing it even when there unlocked. The only time my horn doesn't beep is when the keys are left in the ignition. Does anyone know what could be causing this.
Also I have a new battery in my car and I haven't left anything on, but if it sits for just a few hours (parked it at 5pm yesterday) and the battery was dead by 1am in the morning. Its been doing this for a few days now.
If anyone could help with these issues I would appreciate it.
Old 12-01-2010, 09:26 AM
Race Director

Received 275 Likes on 159 Posts
Welcome to Azine...

The alarm only goes off theoretically when the car is armed, and the doors are unlocked from the inside.. Meaning someone breaks the window, and the moment he unlocks the door the alarm will trigger. Not the greatest factory alarm idea

I can assume that your car is not sensing the unlock/disarm as it should. Or maybe the remote itself keeps on jamming?

The battery, is it Honda stock? Can you take a reading with a multimeter to get the voltage with the engine on and off? It can be the battery or alternator or something as simple as bad ground wire...

Good luck, and provide us with some more clues.
Old 12-10-2010, 10:55 AM
Cruisin'

my '05 MT just started doing the same exact thing...it just goes off randomly when its parked and doors are locked. Thank goodness my battery hasnt died...yet. I think it could have something to do with my recent ipod install b/c it didnt start happening until after i got it installed. im going to get it taken out, which i hope will solve the problem.
Old 12-10-2010, 10:21 PM
Team Owner

Received 1,812 Likes on 1,283 Posts