Bad O2 sensor

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2020, 11:33 PM
Cruisin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bad O2 sensor

So had a bad o2 sensor for bank 1 sensor 1, replaced it by myself since i was a newbie i messed up and damaged the sensor it was NTK 24302, i left it there in the hole and later in august i ordered a new one and got it replaced by a nearby mechanic. he seemed very confident and told me that once install we have to keep the wires away from the engine block due to heat, so he pushed them hide them under something, today after like 3 months while driving on the highway the engine light came on again and its the same code again, i wonder if its the sensor again or something again. Could it be a faulty part, should I have ordered Denso one instead of NTK, any other advice? Also back when the first time the sensor was bad, I had code p0134 and after I changed the sensor the code disappeared and now the code is P0420. Any advice would be great?
Old 11-03-2020, 08:35 AM
Three Wheelin'

Received 491 Likes on 374 Posts
What code do you have now?

P0420 means you have (most likely) bad cat, not a bad sensor. Might be also an exhaust leak. Google how to find out if you have bad cat.

Most people use IR thermometer and compare cat's inlet and outlet temps, or use live data and compare the sensor 1 and sensor 2 readings.
There are movies on YT showing the process.
Old 11-03-2020, 10:50 AM
Senior Moderator

Received 8,671 Likes on 6,690 Posts
it COULD also be the downstream sensor as well, B1S1 sounds like the upstream sensor if i'm not mistaken. The downstream sensor is what tells the car whether or not the Catalytic converter is 'below threshold' Best to actually scan the sensor readings like Peter mentioned above or just replace the downstream sensor
Old 11-03-2020, 07:18 PM
Cruisin'