'07 Type-S Jerks/Bucks in First Gear - Please Help!

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2013, 03:41 PM
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'07 Type-S Jerks/Bucks in First Gear - Please Help!

I'm really hoping the TL community here will be able to help me with this issue. I bought my 2007 TLS 6MT in February of 2012 with 53k miles on it. The car currently has 75k miles on it. During my test drive I noticed the clutch was slipping, so the dealership replaced the clutch prior to my acquisition of the car - which was awesome.

During my first few weeks with the car I found it very difficult to engage first gear without having the car jerk/buck violently. I just assumed that it was me, seeing as the car was new to me and would take some time to adjust to. Before I continue I would like to state that the TLS is the third car I have owned with a manual transmission, and I've been driving stick for the past 6 years. I've also driven countless other stick shifts and have never once encountered this issue.

It's been a year and a half and this is still an issue. Sometimes I will go stretches where the car appears to drive perfectly fine. I will engage first gear normally with no issues. But lately, it seems that, more often than not, the car will jerk/buck when getting into first gear. It is absolutely infuriating. The problem appears to be getting worse because lately after switching to second, I can sometimes feel the jerking/bucking (although not nearly as violent). I've also felt it in third and on rare occasions, fourth gear.

I can't make sense of it, and it makes me feel like a damn n00b every time it happens, which is almost every time! I am not mechanically inclined, an oil change is about the extent of my abilities. What I CAN say is that the clutch doesn't feel like the problem - it catches quickly and it is very smooth when switching gears. The problem presents itself when I apply the gas.