Mods

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2005, 03:32 PM
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Mods

I read with interest, all the mods that people install. However, I am not sure if I know what all mods are for, as I am not too technically inclined to understand most of them. Is there a place on these forums that explains each mod, and what that is for?
Old 12-21-2005, 03:47 PM
tTLiang

in parts and performance. mostly for our egos or what not. or if you get bored. too much $$$. did i mention ego? we are talking about only a fraction of a second most of the time.
Old 12-21-2005, 04:13 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by ttliang
in parts and performance. mostly for our egos or what not. or if you get bored. too much $$$. did i mention ego? we are talking about only a fraction of a second most of the time.
I hardly think that its ego!! Most just like to watch the power gains that you get from adding simple mods such as intake and exhaust. others will do it because they like the noise. I happened to go to the track regularly and a fraction of a second is being a little off. some mods will add a little horse power and give you a fraction of a second but others will shave a second or more. The S/C for one will easily get you into the 13's if driven properly. I know that a stock tl 6mt will run between a 14.3- 14.8 depending on the driver and suspension. for instance:

MY first pass at the track I ran a 14.9
My second I ran a 14.7
My third with and intake and suspension mods I ran a 14.01
after the exhaust and the pulley I ran in the high 13's all day long.

so okay I might not have shaved a complete full second off of the listed time for the 6mt but I enjoyed to watch the improvement the car was able to make with such simple mods.