J32 vs J35 heads

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2019, 03:45 PM
Safety Car

Received 856 Likes on 704 Posts
J32 vs J35 heads

Alrighty fellers,

Which set of heads are better for a Type-S J35?

Ive read tell that J32 heads where superior because they either flowed better(Somehow), or changed compression.

The Type-S cams would be preferred over the Acura RL/Odyssey of the same years. This is because in the case horsepower is preferred over Torque.

I’m a noob at this and there are many experts that know this engine very well that are welcome to chime in.
Old 06-09-2019, 05:42 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 1,989 Likes on 1,412 Posts
aren't J35 valves larger than J32? If yes larger valves+better flow... but why stop there and just go with the J37A1 heads which will flow way better anyway and work easily.
The following users liked this post:
justnspace (06-09-2019)
Old 06-09-2019, 06:42 PM

Received 16,260 Likes on 11,971 Posts
common sense!
Old 06-09-2019, 06:48 PM
Safety Car

Originally Posted by justnspace
common sense!
So use the ported 3.2L heads for the Comptech, and port n’ polish the J35 heads when the engine is built.
Old 06-09-2019, 06:53 PM

Received 16,260 Likes on 11,971 Posts
just do what Gerz did and use the j32a2 from the 2nd gen TL. lol
Old 06-09-2019, 07:04 PM
Safety Car

Doesn't seem to be common sense.

How much would it really help? The cast headers will flow.
Old 06-11-2019, 01:05 PM
Instructor

Received 36 Likes on 27 Posts
Originally Posted by csmeance
aren't J35 valves larger than J32? If yes larger valves+better flow... but why stop there and just go with the J37A1 heads which will flow way better anyway and work easily.