Observations of my new install - JL900/5,CDT Components,Treo Subs

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2012, 03:13 AM
T-Town TL-S

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Exclamation Observations of my new install - JL900/5,CDT Components,Treo Subs

I finished my install last week in my '07 TL-S and had some observations, mostly concerning the sub channel.
I kept the factory nav/audio unit, and the factory amp only powers the center channel. I ran three sets of RCAs from the factory amp output to the JL900/5- front, rear and sub. The JL900/5 takes speaker level inputs via RCA (you have to splice RCAs onto the speaker wires from the factory amp).
I was controlling the sub level from the HU before getting the remote level control (RLC) for the sub section on the JL900/5.
It just didn't sound right at all, the bass had a weird response and just sounded off. (FYI, I've been installing car audio for 20+ years.) I tried adjusting the subwoofer level on the HU to just about every setting from the lowest to the highest with no difference/improvement.
I have a feeling that either there is some equalization going on for the factory sub, or the signal from the factory amp is just disproportionally stronger than the front/rear outputs.
I switched the amp to recieve the signal for the sub section on the JL900/5 from the summed front/rear inputs and it sounds way better.
It's flatter in response and more balanced, and much easier to control.
Now it sounds great all around. It's the first time I've kept the factory HU and it sounds as good as a other install I've done. (and the JL900/5, being a full range class D, sounds just as good as any class A/B amp I've used!)

Here's what I have installed:
Factory Nav/Audio
JL900/5 5 Channel amplifier (100x4 + 500x1)
CDT components in stock locations in the front
Alpine SPR-17C rears (I usually don't use rear speakers, but my kiddo likes music back there!)
Treo TSX 12" subs (2)
Old 04-06-2012, 10:15 AM
Coolest A-zine Member

Received 172 Likes on 163 Posts