Front Speaker Question (Considering Running Infinity References on OEM Amp)

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2015, 08:29 AM
Racer

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts
Front Speaker Question (Considering Running Infinity References on OEM Amp)

After browsing this topic for a few months, I'm still confused about upgrading my front speakers while retaining the stock amp in my car (07 Base TL Nav). I'm no audio expert, but reading around on here has taught me some.

Here's what I do know:
-The stock amp is 2 Ohm, the 6.5 inch Infinity Reference 6030cs components I am considering are 2 Ohm as well.
-I'll need a spacer/bracket of some sort to fit the mids in the doors
-The factory amp sends in the range of 30 to 45 rms to the speakers (Just a range because I've seen people state different numbers here).
-Infinity's speakers sound pretty bright (Kind of want this due to the 2 12's in my trunk drowning out the highs).

Here's what I could use some help with:
-Some members say aftermarket speakers sound the same or worse than OEM on the factory amp, some say they sound much better. If the amp and speakers are both 2 Ohm, shouldn't the speakers sound better than stock?
-What size bracket/spacer will I need for 6.5 inch speakers? What I have read about this on here is confusing.
-SonicElectronix states that the RMS (not peak) power handling is 90W each side and 180 per set. Yet, the recommended power range is 10-150W RMS per channel. Which do I go with? I do not want my speakers too under powered.
-Will the mid bass from the References be better than stock? My mids are nearly shot, anyway.

If anyone can share their knowledge with me on this, I'd really appreciate it! Also, if you know of any 2 Ohm components for around $100 or less that you think would be better, please tell me.
Old 12-04-2015, 11:17 PM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts