DIY Guide: Non-Nav Acer Tablet Install-lots of pics

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2012, 08:40 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 105 Likes on 64 Posts
DIY Guide: Non-Nav Acer Tablet Install-lots of pics

Ive spent the past 3 weeks getting the parts together, researching and fabricating the stuff I needed for this install. I kept a pretty good list because I wanted to write this DIY to help anyone else out on here who wants to do the same thing. I have a lot of experience with electronics and vehicles, so if you haven't done any installs or soldering before, I wouldnt recommend doing this because even with my skills, it was a major bitch. I would like to thank Gryphter for his help and giving me pointers as I did this, as he was the first member to put this tablet in his TL, only difference being his car has factory Nav.

DISCLAIMER: This is merely a guide to show anyone interested how I did this install, I am not responsible if you break your own shit, screw up your car, waste your money, or hurt yourself trying any of this. On a difficulty scale of 1-10, this was a solid 9

Summary: This is an install of an Acer A100 7" tablet in an 04 non-nav TL. I relocated the AC display to the area where the OEM clock was. I also installed a USB adapter and ran a USB cable to the center console. There are a lot of different ways to go about this but I will write how I did it and why, and also other ways you could possibly do it.

Part 1- Getting parts together:
Acer 100 ($180)
Screen protector for A100 (anti glare)
USAspec or DICE adapter with RCA inputs ($100-150)
Spare radio/AC display so you wont have to drive without music for days($30) - What do we have here???
Red LED strip if you relocate the AC display like I did ($15.99 at autozone for a set of two 4" strips that work perfectly)
Micro SD card for memory expansion (I used a 32GB- $30)
Tiny computer fan ($5)