Adding aftermarket amp to power stock speakers

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2012 | 01:38 PM
Instructor

Adding aftermarket amp to power stock speakers

Hi Guys,

I know this topic has been discussed already but I didn't want to hi-jack anyone's thread so I thought I start m own for a little input. I'm also a newbie and would getting help from a friend who runs a stereo shop.

I don't want to add a subwoofer or lose the center channel. Some of the other posts have mentioned if I removed the stock amp, I'd lose the center channel and the navi prompts would have to be routed to one of the other speakers.

This is what I'd like to do. Add a aftermarket amp to power the stock speakers with no intention of adding a sub or losing the center channel. I just want a cleaner sound with a little more bump.

1. Can this be done with just adding an amp and keeping the stock amp?
2. What amps do you guys recommend? I been hearing good things from the Rockford Fosgate PBR300X4.

Let me know if there's anything else I should know.

Thanks!
Old 12-24-2012 | 04:08 PM
Three Wheelin'

I am no expect but willing to help. The PBR300x4 is a four channel amp. You can get 2 amps. One 5 channel for the four speaker and sub., one 2 channel for the center. FYI. Replacing the amp without replacing the speakers is not a big improvement in sound.
Old 12-24-2012 | 05:30 PM
Instructor

Originally Posted by THTL
I am no expect but willing to help. The PBR300x4 is a four channel amp. You can get 2 amps. One 5 channel for the four speaker and sub., one 2 channel for the center. FYI. Replacing the amp without replacing the speakers is not a big improvement in sound.
Can I hold onto the stock amp for for the center channel?
Old 12-25-2012 | 12:54 PM
Suzuka Master

https://acurazine.com/forums/3g-tl-audio-bluetooth-electronics-navigation-94/mild-grade-fever-854353/