2005 TL w/NAV - Xbox Project (The Quest Begins...)

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2006, 11:08 AM
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2005 TL w/NAV - Xbox Project (The Quest Begins...)

Hi All,

I am new to the boards and just found this site as I was Googling for ways on how to go about my goal of having access to all my music (90GB and growing), a selection of videos/pictures, and being able to watch DVDs in my 2005 Acura TL w/NAV.

I’ve spent the past day and a half reading old posts and searching threads and have found great information contained here. I wanted to start my own thread so that I can refer back to it and have it as sort of a “blog” from the beginning of my project to the end, with help from the members here who are willing to contribute their thoughts/ideas/suggestions/criticisms.

Here is my background:
I am a 32y/o Network Engineer. Very good with computers, networking and overall a gadget freak. I have experience running CAT5 wiring, and (some, not a lot) electrical wiring in my house. I also built (with help from a friend/expert) a dedicated home theater room in my basement, so I am well-versed with all the electronics equipment and wiring that project entailed. However, I have no experience with car installations and am cautiously optimistic that with lots of research/reading and maybe the help of people here and who knows, maybe somebody might live near my house here in Stone Ridge, VA (Loudoun County), I might be able to pull-off this grand plan. I would rather not just pay somebody to do it, because I want to save money as well as learn how to do this myself so that I can apply the knowledge to future projects (possibly friends/relatives’ cars). I am also not very handy with cutting tools (dremels, etc.) but I am willing to learn as long as I don’t permanently damage anything visible in my car.