12V power to Radar Detector from cabin light unit in headliner

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2008, 11:34 PM
Love that TL!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
12V power to Radar Detector from cabin light unit in headliner

Got this great radar detector for Christmas. It has a cig lighter plug so there is a visible cord dangling from the unit as it sticks to the windsheild. I want to get into the light cluster on the front of the headliner and steal some 12V power from the lights. Anyone know how to get this unit open without dropping the headliner?
Old 01-08-2008, 09:54 AM
under renovations....

Received 49 Likes on 41 Posts
can't you grab it from the a-pillar?
Old 01-08-2008, 09:53 PM
Love that TL!

Power in the A-Pillar

Dont really know. Im new to the TL mods and have not seen any DIY A-pillar notes. Can you point me in the right direction.

My understanding is that the A-Pillar is the structure between the driver/passenger door and the windshield.....

If I got the 12 V there the wire would be longer than if I got it from the map light cluster. I like the radar detector right next to the Rear View Mirror.
Old 01-09-2008, 10:53 AM
Racer

Received 52 Likes on 35 Posts
I was considering that as a power source too. I started looking into it, and remember thinking it wouldn't be too difficult. I'll grab the PDF later that shows how to remove the relevant panel. The only problem I saw with tapping into an existing power source, was isolating the new circuit with a diode and fuse.
Old 01-09-2008, 12:08 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 42 Likes on 40 Posts
i hardwired my radar detector to the map light area of my TL by tapping into the rear-view mirror power using this product - www.invisicord.com. Some other TLers have used the invisicord as well.

if you do some searching, you can find detailed instructions on how to remove that panel...it was actually pretty easy. Maybe search for "invisicord" or "hardwired."

here is a pic of my setup:

Old 01-09-2008, 12:51 PM
Need for Speed.