Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

So upset

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2005, 07:25 AM
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
So upset

I'm so upset right now. I just pulled into my underground parking garage at work and tried to squeeze in a makeshift parking spot. I'm a teacher, got to work late and didn't want to park on the street. As I was backing into the spot I hit one of the support collums which had a pipe coming down it with a screw pointing out. I backed my car right along the screw and put about a 6" scratch from the seam of the plastic bumper into the metal going toward the rear door. It's not so much the scratch that is upsetting me it's the fact there is now a crease in the metal where the screw dug in. if it was just a scratch it could be painted but I don't know what they could do about a crease dented in. Calling it a crease b/c I don't know how else to describe it. Does anyone know what can be done about it? I know I have no pictures but any insight would be appreciated. I have NBP and in the sun it's going to look horrible. I figure maybe I"ll touch up paint it for now and get it fixed after the winter. Just wondering how much it would cost or if the metal has to be replaced. i know I have no one to blame but myself but I guess accidents do happen. I'd like to kick myself in the ass right now!!!!
Old 12-07-2005, 08:39 AM
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Take it to a good body shop and have it finished properly. If metal work has been scratched you do not want to go through winter with it exposed to road salt.

Plan for about $500 to $1,000 depending on how many panels are involved. If multiple panels are involved they may recommend painting more than those areas affect to ensure proper color match. I would only do the minimum number of panels.
Old 12-07-2005, 08:46 AM
Instructor