Slight Grind into 3rd Gear

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2004 | 06:15 AM
Intermediate

Slight Grind into 3rd Gear

Hi all! My first post on this forum moving from the Maxima forum. I had 3 Maxima's prior to my TL which I picked up yesterday.

Anyway, I have been driving manual transmission cars for many years (although never a 6 speed). I read some of the posts where people talked about getting used to the MT on the TL which I can understand, however I am finding that when shifting into 3rd gear (only), I get a slight grinding noise. Now perhaps I do not have the clutch fully depressed, but that would seem odd (why only in 3rd?).

Has this been discussed before as an experience that others have had? Is it me? The car?
Old 09-17-2004 | 07:52 AM
Senior Moderator

press the clutch all the way in, and blip the revs a little higher
Old 09-17-2004 | 08:37 AM
loves his TL!

there are many possibilities on this ...

1. 3rd gear synchros might be bad -- factory defect perhaps
2. is it a grind or a click?? -- clicks are normal
3. after the "grind" does the gear engage, or do you have to force it?

anyway, these are just my . hope it helps!

Old 09-17-2004 | 11:45 AM
Shift_faster

I have not experienced this with my 6MT. I did have some slight grinding issues with 2nd gear. The problem was that 2nd required more effort to put into gear, and I was letting out the clutch too early. Once I realized this, I just concentrated more on my timing, and it was all good.

Not depressing the clutch enough might be your problem. If not, maybe it is something you should get checked out.
Old 09-17-2004 | 12:26 PM
I6

Honda's 6mt is one of the best out there. It's smooth. Why would someone need to get used to it?
Old 09-17-2004 | 02:11 PM
Intermediate