Serious question about brakes 3G Garage #D-040

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2005 | 10:15 PM
EnJ
Anti-Acura TL

Serious question about brakes 3G Garage #D-040

This is my first year driving in snow and I'm having the hardest time controling my car. I skid out left and right whenever it snows or it's icy, and applying my brakes is a nightmare. Today for instance, I was leaving my apartment complex which goes down a slight hill. I stepped on the brakes easy, like I always do, and my brakes locked up. The pedal wouldn't depress and each time I tried to press it I just get a loud crunching noise! So I kept control of the car but the car just wouldn't stop. Easing off the brakes and trying again gave me the same crunching noise and no brakes. So I flew out into the street where I finally regained the ability to brake. Before anyone asks, I was probably only going like 10 MPH. This was by far the worst it's been yet but even on flat roads, coming to a stop on snow locks up my brakes. Anyone know why? I'm at the point that I don't want to drive my car in the snow anymore because it's dangerous.
I looked up the info on the brakes in the owner's manual and it states the brakes take longer to work in snow and ice and that noise I'm hearing is supposed to be the anti-lock brakes working.....but my brakes totally lock up and when that happens I'm screwed. Any incite or advice would be appreciated.

thanks
Old 01-11-2005 | 10:27 PM
Moderator Alumnus

What tire do you have? My TU2 EL42s worked ok in last winter. Wider tires could perform worse than others. And, I don't experience that issue yet. Was that road icy? If not, you have to report this to your dealer.

It seems to me that you lost the grip on the icy-like downhill... that's why you could stop "... I flew out into the street where I finally regained the ability to brake." IMHO. Maybe I'm wrong here.
Old 01-11-2005 | 10:30 PM
EnJ
Anti-Acura TL