3G TL (2004-2008)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Searching for first TL, can mileage be too LOW?

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2021, 12:14 PM
Intermediate

Received 33 Likes on 16 Posts
Searching for first TL, can mileage be too LOW?

Hi all, noob here/ first post so thanks in advance. Started searching for a TL Type-S around CT. Have not previously owned an Acura but have been researching on this forum. Going to look at one tomorrow with 40K miles, very clean, 5AT, second owner has maintained it (brakes, tires, trans flush) but has only driven 2K in last three years. He bought it from the proverbial "old lady" first owner who apparently did the timing belt service at the dealer for age not mileage. He's asking good money for it, but I plan to get it inspected etc before purchase.

So here's the thing: I'm buying a TL to drive it. Lots of owners on this forum clearly have high miles on their cars if maintenance is kept up. Are the low miles on this car and its lack of regular use something I should be concerned about? Sitting is not good for cars, so I fear paying top dollar and then having to replace suspension, transmission, and other original components once they start getting real-world use again.

I've got my list of TL weak points like the trans pressure switches. Any perspective from your ownership or buying experiences, especially re: the low miles, is much appreciated. Thanks again.
Old 04-23-2021, 12:16 PM
Intermediate

Edit: It's a 2007. Grey TL Type-S 5AT with 40K miles
Old 04-23-2021, 12:45 PM
Suzuka Master

Received 1,692 Likes on 1,307 Posts