Sponsored by:

Rear Main Seal Replacement Dealer Experience

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2022, 03:20 PM
10th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Rear Main Seal Replacement Dealer Experience

Hello everyone,

Thought I would share my recent experience getting my rear main seal replaced at an Acura dealership. Recently, during my last oil change, I was informed my rear main seal went from weeping to dripping. Although I knew this didn't mean the seal needed to be replaced right away, to avoid future headaches and beat the possibility of the cost of the repair going up, I got it replaced now. When I initially purchased the car, I was told there were no issues, unfortunately, this wasn't the case. The day after purchasing the car it had an electrical issue, during the appointment they did the commentary multipoint inspection and found several issues with the car, the scariest was the $2,400 quote for the rear main seal to be replaced. Now, I'm a college student so this actually petrified me, fortunately, I was reassured by the service advisor that it didn't need immediate replacement as it was only weeping. Since this initial appointment, I have since switched dealerships, where the second dealer also informed me that there was a rear main seal leak, however, they also advised me not to replace it until it needed to be. I purchased the car about a year ago, and like I previously stated it started dripping about a month ago.