Sponsored by:

Rear Deck Lip OEM vs Aftermarket

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2006, 09:24 PM
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rear Deck Lip OEM vs Aftermarket

Hello,
I'm new to the Acura TL world with the purchase of my 06 that I had for 2 months now. I'm would like to add a Rear Deck Lip but was stomped by users buying other than OEM. I know that we all save money but you pay for what you get. My question is this: Does the OEM Rear Deck Lip use hardware for mounting or 3M tape like the aftermarket lips. Does the Aftermarket Rear Deck Lip sit flush with the trunk like the OEM Lip or is it raised slightly from the 3M tape?
Old 01-27-2006, 10:03 PM
CTS-V Import Slayer

Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts
https://acurazine.com/forums/showthr...t=deck+install

Here is thread that should explain it all....the answer to direct question is toward bottom....but good all around info for you.
Old 01-28-2006, 08:22 AM
Racer

I read that trend but it only helps me out a little. I would like to know if the Aftermarket Rear Deck Lip sit flush like the OEM Rear Deck Lip? Or is it raised slightly due to the 3M tape?
I wash and wax my car all the time, although 3M tape is durable it breaks down over time hvaing the possiblity to make the Rear Deck Lip come off.
Old 01-28-2006, 11:52 AM
CTS-V Import Slayer

Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts
Originally Posted by nhousepro
I read that trend but it only helps me out a little. I would like to know if the Aftermarket Rear Deck Lip sit flush like the OEM Rear Deck Lip? Or is it raised slightly due to the 3M tape?
I wash and wax my car all the time, although 3M tape is durable it breaks down over time hvaing the possiblity to make the Rear Deck Lip come off.