Possibly Getting 04 TL

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2004 | 07:27 PM
Racer

Possibly Getting 04 TL

Well...I totalled my car about 2 days ago and nearly died due to an idiot driver...I was driving a 93 Legend and luckily there was a witness there to identify it wasn't my fault...maybe I will go into the details of that later.

I have some questions about the 04 TL and if you could help that would be great haha

Ok first How are the safety features of the TL because I'm pretty scared to drive now...near death experiences in a car really shake you up.

Secondly, should I get MT or AT? I'm a young driver and am not that good at shifting yet and because Acura already has poor Transmissions I'm thinking no.

As for performance mods and competition with other cars...how does it rank?

I'm really into car audio and haven't really looked up how the 04 TL works...I'm thinking if I go to the dealership asking for no audio parts and just setting up an entire aftermarket system by myself because I don't want the hassle of re-wiring if 04 TLs worked similarly to that of the 93 legend Bose system

Thanks much
Old 08-16-2004 | 07:33 PM
You touch my tra la la...

The Manual trannies on Acuras don't have problems I hear. I thought it was EARLIER gen Autos that were dieing?

Safety features are great. You have anti-lock brakes, VSC (vehicle stability assist), side airbags, curtain airbags, etc. etc. The 6MT also comes with LSD (limited slip differential).

Performance mods, right now you're looking at CAI, springs/suspension, sways, wheels (some custom wheels made for our car), supposedly there is an ECU flash, and thats about it. Comptech is developing an exhaust but the tips are round unfortunately. They're also developing sport brakes and a Supercharger that will most likely be much better on a 6MT.

I have a 5AT, and I regret the choice... I really wish I got a 6MT.