Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

OEM vs. Aftermarket Alarm

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2003, 11:09 PM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
OEM vs. Aftermarket Alarm

I would like to get an opinion from owners of 04 TL or owners of 2nd Gen TLs. It is my understanding that the OEM alarm does not include any impact sensors.

Therefore, if one wants impact sensors, do you install another alarm while disabling the OEM or what? I've been thinking about this for quite some time now and there seems to be several options...

First, I am not a electrician or claim to know everything but here goes...

1) Leave the OEM alarm and have a tech install impact sensors via the OEM alarm brain

2) Leave the OEM alarm and have a tech install another alarm with impact sensors

3) Disable the OEM alarm and have a tech install an alarm with impact sensors.

If you have any suggestions, I'd appreciate it.

B.
Old 12-07-2003, 09:20 PM
Advanced

bump.. anyone have any ideas?
Old 12-07-2003, 09:39 PM
Anthracite Trend Setter

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Yea, I got some ideas. Here is what you do:

1) Leave the OEM alarm and have a tech install impact sensors via the OEM alarm brain

2) Leave the OEM alarm and have a tech install another alarm with impact sensors

3) Disable the OEM alarm and have a tech install an alarm with impact sensors.

Seriously though, 2 and 3 are going to require additiona remotes or at least a different one. Not everythign works the same and on my car, the oem alarm aoccasioanly goes off. You will need an expensive on to keep roll down windows and all the features. I would stay oem if I could. Installation is not cheap either

I know, I'm completely useless
Old 12-08-2003, 01:23 AM
Does anyone read this

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Have you tried calling any shops that sell alarms and asking what your options are? That's what I would do.
Old 12-08-2003, 01:24 AM
Racer