Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My TL drives on water!

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2004, 11:31 AM
Team Anthracite

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
My TL drives on water!

... or at least thats what my navi said this morning. We had a huge thunder / lightening storm here in the Seattle area last night (very rare actually), and I'm assuming it did something to the GPS system in the car.

Pics you say? I wish! I pulled over to get my cell phone out of the trunk so I could take pictures, only to find I had left it with my laptop at home. (I was only 2 minutes from home.) SO I turn around to get it, and by the time I get home the navi had managed to re-track to the correct road.

Thats good though, I was having nightmarish thoughts of having to take my car in and letting them rip up the dash to replace my navi system. Thankfully, that won't happen.

Is this something I can expect if I'm in an electrical storm like that? I'm new to GPS, but it seems reasonable; i'm just glad it was able to recalibrate itself.
Old 06-18-2004, 11:42 AM
Moderator Alumnus

Received 86 Likes on 30 Posts
GPS is new to me, too... interested to know what's going on.
Old 06-18-2004, 11:51 AM
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
From what I have been reading in this forum your TL hydroplanes on water. I have had NAVI in two different cars and have not yet had the TL out in a thunderstorm. With the Lexus system and when I had DirecTV storms would take them both out temporarily. Signals don't travel through heavy cloud cover.
Old 06-18-2004, 11:57 AM
Team Anthracite

That's whats interesting though. This morning on my way to work it was clear blue sky (another rarity for Seattle. ) The storm ended last night around 2am, and I left for work at 7:30. So it'd have to have been a residual thing. I'll probably never find out since I'd have to drive to the mid-west to experience anything like that again.
Old 06-18-2004, 12:24 PM
Registered Abuser of VTEC

Received 115 Likes on 84 Posts