Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Mistake getting the Manual???

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2010, 04:53 AM
OCD

Received 126 Likes on 43 Posts
Mistake getting the Manual???

Got the 6 speed cause everyone said get the 6-speed! I like the idea and my dad used to have a crappy Ford explorer manual so I knew "how to drive" This is my first week with my TL 6 speed and im still learning of course but at this point it is definitely not "fun" right now especially yesterday when I had my first taste of stop and go traffic. So the question is with a few more weeks will I start to love it or do I make the wrong choice?
Old 03-12-2010, 06:22 AM
Veni, vidi, vici

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
6 speed = faster TL, IF you know how to drive. But as far as loving it, it's more exciting then an automatic. there a downside to having M/T and having A/T. 6 speed is rare, it'll grow on you.
Old 03-12-2010, 06:40 AM

Received 3,489 Likes on 2,089 Posts
No way. I can tell you for the very first car I truly owned, I was dead set on getting a manual, no matter what car it was. It was going to be stick or I would be taking the bus. I got an Integra, which I learned on. Initially I was patient in learning but it was difficult to get it smooth. After a week or two I grew frustrated at the jerkiness and how unintuitive driving was now, partly because I was driving by myself for the first part and I didn't have anyone to give me advice on my driving. I was so frustrated that I seriously thought buying a stick was a mistake, and wished I bought an automatic instead.