Going to test drive a TL-S tomorrow...

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2007 | 03:16 PM
The Golden One

Going to test drive a TL-S tomorrow...

So as some of you might have read in my few posts (I'm new here)...I'm going to be getting myself into a 2008 TL-S once the 2009 model's arrive. I work in the IT industry and plan to put $15-20k down and finance the rest at a decent percentage (I have decent/slightly above average credit history and it's extensive for a kid my age as I do a lot of card purchases that I pay off quickly). Also, I will not have ANY card debt when I get this car...just school tuition and that's it.

Being that I am really anal about being organized and like to think out every big decision I make WELL ahead of time...I'm going to be test driving the AT and the 6MT models tomorrow. The options I will be adding to the purchase when I do buy are the A-Spec Kit, Moonroof Deflector/Visor, Backup Sensor(s), and the 18" Sparkle Silver Alloy Wheels (not totally sure about this one and if they can still do that option at that time).

My question is...what should I or what should I not say to the sales man who will be 'working' with me? I'm 20 and this is my first dealership purchase...before this I've only bought private sale used or had hand-me-downs.

I'd appreciate any help I can get.

I have a guide from another forum (NYCMaximas.org) on how to properly figure out a target price, so I'm not really worried about that...I just need to know what else I should be looking out for on my first visit to the dealership.

Also, I live in Albany, NY...and there is only one Acura dealership within 100 miles of here (Northeast Acura in Latham, NY). If the salesman gets too pushy...should I tell him I'm talking to other Acura dealerships? Should I tell him that regardless? etc.

Thanks in advance.
Old 12-05-2007 | 03:36 PM
Burning Brakes