Front Flex Pipe Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2020 | 05:13 AM
10th Gear

Arrow Front Flex Pipe Replacement

Hello, I bought an 07 TL Base AT a few months ago and while I've been doing maintenance, I noticed my flex pipe is ripped. Does anyone know the part number or proper size for the flex pipe?
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01C5J3TII/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?smid=A6D4WQ617ZKKN&psc=1 https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01C5J3TII/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?smid=A6D4WQ617ZKKN&psc=1
I found this on Amazon and it says it fits but there are also some in different sizes that also claim to fit.
I'm very new to working on cars so I want to make sure I'm buying the right part. Gotta get this replaced asap, the leak heats up my trans and turn the cabin into a sauna (not ideal for a resident of Miami)
Any help is appreciated, thanks.
Old 05-09-2020 | 09:50 AM
Three Wheelin'

When replacing just the flex pipe, best practice is to cut it out and go to the store and find something that matches. Usually I would get a flex pipe and some small adapter. Removing the pipe from the car is helpful, just tack weld it while on the car before taking out and welding it all the way.

But since this pipe can be unbolted, wouldn't it be easier to replace the whole j-pipe? Even if you need to cut out old bolts where it connects to the rest of the exhaust (towards the rear), front nuts usually give after heating them.

Rockauto has those pipes in ~$100 area: https://www.rockauto.com/en/catalog/...ion,pipe,10038

There are also performance versions available, but they are a bit pricey compared to rockauto.
The following users liked this post:
JavierC24 (05-10-2020)
Old 05-09-2020 | 10:47 AM
Racer

Hello and welcome to the wonderful world of working on cars! You'll laugh, you'll cry, but mostly you will curse and swear. Also you will gain a very rewarding and financially valuable life skill.