Sponsored by:

Engine Oil Overfill?

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2010, 11:36 PM
Pro

Received 22 Likes on 21 Posts
Engine Oil Overfill?

Guys,

I just changed the engine oil earlier today and thought I put in 4.5 qts but ended up overfilling by a 1/4 qt or a tad bit more. The Redline qts are a bit tough to judge on the level. Reading the oil level after letting the car sit for about 15 min after startup, the level is clearly about an 1/8th of a inch over the max amount - into the C on RCA.

It's not over by much but I have searched around and am reading about all the talk of possible engine damage by overfilling, even if they were talking about 1qt+ of an overfill.

Shit, I've been changing oil for nearly 20 years and can't believe I did this on the new purchase. I'm thinking of draining a little by loosening the filter. Should I be worrying?
Old 07-11-2010, 11:39 PM
ScoobyZINE

Received 41 Likes on 38 Posts

Not at all.. IMO. I overfilled mine as well, by just a hair according to the dipstick, and no issues. This has been about 1500 miles ago.
Old 07-12-2010, 06:35 AM
Registered Member

Received 162 Likes on 102 Posts
A quarter of a quart or a hair more is not going to cause any problems. Our cars have a windage (baffle) tray in the crankcase to help keep oil from introducing itself to the crankshaft. You should be fine.
Old 07-12-2010, 10:10 PM
Pro

Being paranoid can screw things up...Pops said you gotta work on it like its the Accord and just take it easy. Nice to know we have a baffle tray.

ATF is next.
Old 07-12-2010, 10:18 PM
LIST/RAMEN/WING MAHSTA 짱

Received 207 Likes on 158 Posts
Your fine.
Old 07-12-2010, 10:27 PM
ScoobyZINE

LMK how the tranny change goes! Are you doing a 3x3?
Old 07-12-2010, 10:42 PM
Pro

^^^Yep, doing a 3x3 with Redline D4 for the first time. I gotta take take it easy and check out the DIY again.
Old 07-12-2010, 10:43 PM
ScoobyZINE

I've studied the DIY many many times and it looks quite simple . How many miles are on your car?