Driving without grille

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2009, 04:03 PM
Off roading in his

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Driving without grille

Hey All,
I need assistance.

Can our TL be driven with the grille off? Any danger in somebody opening the hood?

Background:
I found someone to overlay my front grille. This person did my roof overlay. so I am comfortable with his overlaying skill. (same as in this thread - https://acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?tt2972 ). And now I need to remove the bumper. I am a total newb when it comes to mechanical things, and I've read several threads which state it should take about an hour to remove it. I am worried that I've never done this before and can screw it up. I have a few options, and I need a suggestion from my fellow A-Ziners

Option 1:
Remove front bumper in the evening - take the grille to the guy to overlay it next day. Then come back, replace grille and put bumper back on. In the process of the car being grille-less, store it in my parents garage (my dad hates it when I use his garage). During this time I may forget how to put bumper back on
Option 2:
Remove front bumper in evening, remove the grille and put the bumper back on. Next day, take grille to guy to overlay then come back to the car and remove bumper again and replace the grille. Probably best option, but I am hesitant to remove the bumper anymore than I have to. Also, this is where my first question comes in, is it wise to leave the car on a street without the grille?
Option 3:
Take my car to the guy, remove bumper and grille, let him overlay grille and then put the bumper back on. It will take about an hour and a half to remove bumper, than it will take him 1-2 hrs to overlay (according to him) and then 1.5 hrs to put bumper back on. Due to the fact that he'll be overlaying it in evening - this may be too lengthy of an option.

Option 4:
Please make a suggestion of your own to me

Thanks all,
I really appreciate it.
Old 09-17-2009, 04:55 PM
Advanced