Sponsored by:

Does anyone's outside temp gauge work?

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2006, 12:04 AM
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Does anyone's outside temp gauge work?

I'm new to acura - 788 miles on my '06 TL nav -

My outside temp rarely displays correct temperature - been back 2x's to dealer - they tell me you have to drive so far / so fast for it to register - (something like 3 miles over 17 mph) -

Well - I drive mostly city - good luck find 3 non-stop miles in city - -

I jump on the freeway and drive a ways - no problem -

I jump in first thing in the morning - drive 40 mins stop & go - and I will read whatever it was at startup...

This is a poor design (if truly designed that way) - my other vehicle is a '02 GMC Duramax Diesel - it registers correctly any time, any place....

Am I crazy?

Steve
Old 07-11-2006, 12:26 AM
Safety Car

Received 36 Likes on 13 Posts
Sometimes, I do have that problem where it will read something absurd, or nothing at all..but for the most part it does its job.
Old 07-11-2006, 12:41 AM
2004 SSM/EB/5AT/Navi/RSB

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Mine usually shows exactly the same temp that other thermometers nearby show. But, if the car's been sitting in a hot parking lot for a while, the temp will be too high until I start moving a little. Then it settles into something realistic.
Old 07-11-2006, 01:15 AM
Instructor

Originally Posted by Dobek

My outside temp rarely displays correct temperature - been back 2x's to dealer - they tell me you have to drive so far / so fast for it to register - (something like 3 miles over 17 mph) -

I jump in first thing in the morning - drive 40 mins stop & go - and I will read whatever it was at startup...

This is a poor design (if truly designed that way) - my other vehicle is a '02 GMC Duramax Diesel - it registers correctly any time, any place....

Am I crazy?

Steve
I think mine is pretty accurate however, it doesn't change instantaneously when the temp fluctuates.
Old 07-11-2006, 01:19 AM