Detailing - another reason to love the TL

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2009 | 09:05 AM
Advanced

Detailing - another reason to love the TL

I detailed cars in college for 3 summers so I have lots of experience with it.

Yesterday, I detailed my TL for the first time, and was so surprised with how easy it was to wash and wax. I use a 10" random orbital wax applicator (like a buffer) so one huge issue is that water sits in door handles, window sills, and under headlights and tail lights, and then comes out when you start waxing. That was almost a non-issue w/ exception of Tail lights.

Also, the only parts on the car that can't be waxed are the rubber pieces on the roof and windshield. If you tape those off, you can literally wax the whole car by just opening the doors.The rear glass sits on top of the seal, so there is no rubber to worry about there, and the window jams are polished so waxing them won't cause stains or residue. There are also no rubber trim pieces around the door handles, headlights, etc.

These are all things I never appreciated until I detailed my ride yesterday.

I used MeGwires (sp) wax and was done with the whole wax job in about 30 minutes, which is a record for me.

Yet another reason why I my TL.
Old 04-12-2009 | 11:20 AM
Team Owner

Tulsa, we need more pics!!! By the way, your thread might get moved to the Wash & Wax section.

2009 Kansas City All Acura Meet-May 17th
https://acurazine.com/forums/midwest-312/kansas-city-2009-spring-all-acura-meet-may-17th-12pm-%40-jay-wolfe-acura-714994/
Old 04-12-2009 | 11:53 AM
Team Owner

I keep a $20 `harbor freight tools`- 5 gallon air tank- ready in the garage- it adjust tire pressures and when doing a car wash, the compressed air shot in the cracks gets rid of water right now

Caution on the headlight area - car wash type pressure wash or compressed air can weaken the sealant on the housing and allow expensive leak inside lens