Sponsored by:

clutch question

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2009, 08:29 PM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
clutch question

Hello,
I am new to acura ingeneral as i just purchased a 2004 Acura TL 6 speed manual. Under hard acceleration in which i take it to red line (but don't cross) and then shift the clutch gets very stiff. Is this normal? I feel like something is wrong? Its almost like its gets "numb". I checked the fluid and its at MIN....i'm going to add some dot 3 brake fluid just like the manual says just to be safe. Any other ideas as to why it could be doing this? The car also has inconsistent launches like its easy to stall and in general is hard for me to be smooth with it. The gearbox feels fine though throughout. Please advise

THANKS IN ADVANCE
Old 12-02-2009, 09:31 PM
PCM full of water, yummy

See the various slave cylinder check valve removal threads... It is the best mod you can do to your 6 speed tranny.

https://acurazine.com/forums/3g-tl-performance-parts-modifications-112/113-removal-slave-cylinder-check-valve-734300/
Old 12-03-2009, 08:21 AM
Intermediate

so is this "heavy feel" in the clutch is normal? The heaviness comes after i've accelerated hard but then when i let off to down shift or as i slow down and i push the clutch in. I've driven 5 speeds my whole life.
Old 12-04-2009, 01:07 AM
Team Owner

Received 1,137 Likes on 1,067 Posts
you have a fluid leak somewhere- probable slave cylinder
ck that mod thread for other info

to look for the leak:
peel back the edge of the rubber boot on slave- if fluid is there its a bad seal inside the slave and needs replacement of unit

If not there- look inside car at point a pushrod goes thru from pedal to slave, no fluid should be visable there either or master is leaking
Old 12-04-2009, 02:34 AM
Advanced

Originally Posted by 01tl4tl
you have a fluid leak somewhere- probable slave cylinder
ck that mod thread for other info

to look for the leak: