Humming noise at 60 mph plus

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2013, 12:17 PM
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Humming noise at 60 mph plus

Hello,

I am new to the Acura TSX family, I recently purcahsed a 2009 Acura TSX with Technology package (50,000).

During a winter storm I was driving to work and I slid off the road, I hit my right rear wheel on the curb
(Really not that hard but it did make a solid contact). After leaving work I noticed a humming noise around 60 mph plus. The sound goes away when I turn right even if the wheel slightly turns right it goes away. I went to discount tire and had them balance my wheels to see if that is the issue. They did not report the wheel as being bent.

This would lead me to beleive that the wheel bearing has issues. My questiosn is could it only be the right rear wheel? Am I safe to only replace the right rear wheel bearing?

How difficult is this? I would assume it has to be easier then the front wheel?
I would hate to change the wheel bearing only to find out the wheel is bent.

Thank you!!!!

Mark
Old 01-06-2013, 08:18 PM
5th Gear

So should I change the rear wheel bearing or buy a new rim? They are about the same cost.

Thank you!

Mark
Old 01-06-2013, 09:25 PM
ceb
Suzuka Master

Received 1,277 Likes on 952 Posts
Originally Posted by Odl777
So should I change the rear wheel bearing or buy a new rim? They are about the same cost.

Thank you!

Mark
Should I have heart surgery or a gall bladder removal?

Your question is similar. You need to find the cause of the problem and it is unlikely that it is a bent wheel. I suspect some suspension component took a hit. Go to a good suspension shop and have it checked. You'll need an alignment at the very least.
Old 01-06-2013, 11:48 PM
Safety Car

Received 682 Likes on 475 Posts
Originally Posted by ceb
Should I have heart surgery or a gall bladder removal?