Crank But No Start! HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2018, 09:57 PM
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Crank But No Start! HELP!

My name's Michael and I would really appreciate some help if anybody out there is willing and able. I'm in need of some good advice. I have a 2002 TL, which has had an issue for a while now with a crank but no start situation. This has been going on for about 3 or 4 months... And I am not a mechanic...

At first it seemed completely random. Most of the time it would start up just fine. But then every once and a while, it struggled to turn over. Come to notice it was usually when I was out running errands with a lot of stopping and going, and by about the 5th or 6th errand it would crank but it would not turn over. The way that I have gotten around this was by giving it a lot of gas, putting it into gear, and as it spit and sputtered (trying to die), once I got it to start rolling forward, it began to start running just fine.

I changed the EGR valve about 2 months ago, which turned off my check engine light, and I changed the spark plugs. All of my coils seemed to be working, although I did have some oil leaking into my coil chambers (two of them), but I fixed that with some high temp gasket maker, and I had a friend help me do it since I don't know what I'm doing.

Those small repairs seemed to cure my problems, but only for about two weeks. Then it started again. And I began to notice a pattern that if I only used the car once or twice that day, like back and forth to work, then there was never any problem. But if I was out and about running around, then after a while the struggle to turn over was sure to happen again.