Exhaust mods

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2017, 11:35 AM
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exhaust mods

I’m new to the whole import world, coming from the truck world, I bought a 03 tl type s for a daily. And I want to give it some growl. I want like a 350z or similar type sound but can’t find any good exhaust videos. I don’t want a “ricey” sound. And would love to keep it as simple to just switching some mufflers or straight pipe. I don’t wanna spend much more than maybe $300. Car is bone stock. Any suggestions?
Old 10-08-2017, 01:41 PM
Pro

Received 94 Likes on 79 Posts
Remove the intake air resonator for some excellent noise up front on the intake phase.

Honestly if you're used to V8 engines then you're going to have a bit of "rice" with the V6, especially if you go straight pipe. But there are some very nice exhausts out there but you have to pay for them.

Here's what I'm going to be putting on my TL soon:

Old 10-12-2017, 09:01 PM

Received 1,016 Likes on 867 Posts
^
"bit of "rice" with the V6, especially if you go straight pipe"
Should hear one in person before passing judgment. Straight Pipes J-Series do not sound rice at all, I heard nothing but compliments on my Straight Piped TL-S and I would personally not use a ricey exhaust either. If you compare my video below the ATLP exhaust even sounds more raspier than the straight pipes...

To OP here is my straight piped TL-S sound, Drive-by sounds insanely good but I didn´t record one:

Last edited by Skirmich; 10-12-2017 at 09:06 PM.
Old 10-12-2017, 10:01 PM
Pro

Received 94 Likes on 79 Posts
Hahah I thought I'd hear back on this one. I was speaking purely from the perspective of someone who has driven V8 all their life and is used to the deeper tone of the V8, especially domestics, and especially with exhaust mods. Anything will sound a bit 'ricey' to that person (not even to mention what a V4 would sound like to that person).