Used Acura TL with 150K+ Miles: What to watch out for?

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2006, 09:16 AM
Drifting

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Used Acura TL with 150K+ Miles: What to watch out for?

There's an 1999 Acura TL for sale in my area with over 150,000 miles. The car appears to have been well maintained and the price is close to the Kelly Blue Book value.

Aside from the four speed automatic transmission, what other items might be a potential maintenance problems for a TL with so many miles on it?

Before buying I would have the car checked out by a local mechanic. It would be helpful if I could tell him to look for specific items that might be TL-specific weak spots.

I would also be great to hear from others with high mileage TLs.

I'm a long time Honda driver but I'm just not too familiar with the Acura TL line of cars.

Bob
Old 05-11-2006, 01:21 PM
TL Q(

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
acura and honda are both great cars, they last forever and hardly give you any problems. i don't know if you already know, honda's V6 kinda bring in the transmission problem, which fails very often as of my knowledge. acura covers it up to 10yrs/100,000 miles, but then since it's 150K already, it's done and will be on your own expense. otherwise, i love my TL!

oh, forgot to mention! warp rotors are also famous among TLs.....

and interior rattling is getting popular now!
Old 05-11-2006, 01:28 PM
Drifting

Thanks for the helpful advice.

Yes, I've been reading all about the transmission problems. I am getting the impression that the 4 speed transmissions used in the 1999 model might be a bit more reliable than the 5 speed variant installed in the 2000 and up models. But it seems like they still fail more often than one might expect from a Honda/Acura product. The latest Consumer Reports gives the 1999 TL transmission a "half-black" circle which is one step up from the "full-black" circle for the 2000-2002 models.

Bob

Originally Posted by wmah523