Salt

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2000, 08:50 AM
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Salt

hey guys. I got quick question. i've been driving my TL w/o wash for like 2 months now. It's covered in salt all over. This realy does not bother me, but I heard that driving like that is not all that good for the paint. Can someone give me an insight on this matter?
Damn, I should move to FL or something....

------------------
2000 TL Pearl White w\o nav
1991 Volvo 940 Turbo Traded

"Just Shut Up and Enjoy the Ride"
Old 12-27-2000, 09:01 AM
Pro

Actually I believe that driving around down there ain't so great for your paint either. My dad always tells me to run my car down with water after coming back from a FL vacation.

And yes, the salt is in general, bad stuff for the car's paint. That's why, at least I think, that when advertising a used car that's for sale, they say things like: never smoked in, garaged, never seen snow.

------------------
Kenny
TL
Old 12-27-2000, 09:01 AM
Three Wheelin'

I believe salt is a very corrosive element and will cause eventual deterioration to your paint. That’s why you see cars that experience winter weather has more rust and body damage than the cars in the sunny areas like Florida and Arizona. Even though the appearance may not bother you since all of the other cars on the road have salt on them, but when your car is a few years old and you see rust on your car, that would be unsightly.

So, I'd say at least take it to a brushless car wash if you don’t feel like washing it yourself. Also, if you spend $30k+ on a car, I'd take care of it

Just my take.

------------------
'00 White Diamond Perl w/Nav
Wings West Spoiler
Comptech Exaust
Rear Comptech Sway bar
Old 12-27-2000, 09:21 AM
Racer

I once read (in Consumer Reports ) that the two most important things you can do to keep your car in good shape are:
  • Change the oil regularly
  • Wash the salt and dirt off your car