Regular Vs. Drive by wire Systems

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2003, 05:29 PM
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Regular Vs. Drive by wire Systems

Hey guys...i am very new to cars..have recently bought a 2003 TL and just love driving it. I was wondering, because the TL does not have the drive by wire system, what's the advantage of this system compare to the regular mechanical throttle system (is that what's is called??)...do u feel less "vibration" when u step on the acc pedal with the drive by wire sys???
Old 06-03-2003, 05:49 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
throttle by wire gives driver a much faster throttle response than traditional mechanical setup.

On BMW, the throttle by wire system will monitor how quickly the pedal is pressed and will adjust air intake accordingly. Hence, it has better reaction to heavy footed driver. BMW claim that the throttle by wire system chopped off about half a second on 0-60 run.

On the M series, there is a sports mode, that will speed up the throttle response even further. Hence M3 can launch 0-60 as low as 4.5 sec with only 333HP. Under sports mode, a tiny pressure on the throttle pedal will result in full throttle response. Hence, it is difficult to get a smooth shift under such fast and deep response
Old 06-04-2003, 02:55 AM
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Great that you asked...i just did my presentation/report on X-By-Wire.
Everything Chiawei is corrrect.

X-By-Wire system is basically replacing a mechanical or hydraulic system with an electronic one.

So the conventional drive system is having a direct cable linkage from the pedal straight to the throttle body.
Drive-By-Wire...you have sensors on the pedal and it sends the signals to the computer which will activate the electric motor which turn the throttle body. There is several different ways the pedal is activated...the position or the acceleration of the pedal or a combination of both.

Benefit:
1) No pedal vibration