Question about our Michelins...

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2004, 06:54 PM
Happy with my STi!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Question about our Michelins...

As we all know, the stock Michelins on our TLs (mine is a 2003, dunno if Michelin for other years) suck. What I don't quite understand is why are they so damn expensive if they suck so much? I was reading a car magazine and I checked the prices of other good brands such as Nitto, BFGoodrich, Pirelli, etc. and they all seem to be way much cheaper than our tires (almost by $100 or more in some cases). I recently bought another Michelin to match the other 3 stock ones coz it has a nail puncture and it was nasty, it cost me around $200 with installation. I just don't understand why Michelin is so much more expensive than the other brands. In addition, my gf's TT also uses Michelin but her tires are way much better than ours, less noisy and squeaky at turns... anyone can explain? I am not a tire expert so I don't know much. Also, which brand and size would you recommend? Which would give me the best handling and road grip? Is Nitto any good?
Old 03-24-2004, 07:01 PM
is the Mighty Favog

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
This going to open up a can of Pandora's Worms but here goes. Why are they so much more expensive? I have no real clue. But, maybe they put a lot of money into them (R&D, Production, advertising etc.) and discovered themselves that they're just shy of junk. In order to re-coup the lost expenses they sell them to a car manufacturer for cheap and see what they can get out of what stock is left; selling them to people like TireRack.com and DiscountTire.com hoping they'll get some more suckers there to buy them.
Old 03-24-2004, 11:36 PM
6th Gear