Lexol question

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2002, 05:35 PM
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Lexol question

after talking to a lot of my friends, the consensus for leather care was for lexol. But when i ask them when the leather actually starts softening, they all reply, you know what i never paid attention to that..just one day it was softer. Now, can anyone tell me about how long it takes for the leather to actually start softening? my friend has been using lexol in his 97 es300. it is smooth as a baby's a$$ and soft as a fat girls belly.
Old 01-01-2002, 09:01 PM
Racer

Your friends are right about Lexol, I've been using it for many years and it works great, never noticed any of my cars leather getting any softer though. I had a maxima for two years and 43,000 miles with the seats Lexol'd every 4-6 weeks and they looked brand new when I sold it.
Old 01-02-2002, 12:01 AM
Drifting

It became slightly softer than the minute before I applied it. But it almost makes no diff. You'd still have to take care of your leather seats tho... otherwise, they'll start crackin.
Old 01-02-2002, 09:02 AM
Not a Blowhole

Received 32 Likes on 13 Posts
Softness and texture are primarily the result of the leather itself, and Acura chooses a relatively hard, plasticky leather. Seems to wear well, though.
Old 01-02-2002, 11:54 AM

My only long-term experience with leather has been the various motorcycle riding gear I've used/worn/maintained over the last 25+ years of riding and IMHO, leather becomes more supple over time mainly from it being "worked". Products like Lexol are good, but their application alone will not make the leather more supple. There are areas of my motorcycle jackets/pants that are incredibly soft/supple and other areas that feel almost like new. The supple areas are those that are "worked" - i.e. the sleeves in the elbow area.