Groove in my disc brakes????

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2001, 02:25 PM

Unhappy Groove in my disc brakes????

I've searched the forum and haven't seen this discussed so here it goes. I noticed while cleaning my wheels over the weekend that there are grooves on both of my passenger side disc brakes that aren't on the driver side. I called my dealer and was told that he thought they should be there, but I found that odd. He said if there were something wrong then I would hear squealing, but he said I could swing by so they can compare it to other TL-Ss on the lot, but I thought I'd ask you experts first. I would think that grooves would mean there's a defect with the brake pad or maybe a rock got caught in between and is etching it as I drive although I don't hear any noise. Any help would be greatly appreciated since I'm not a mechanic. Thanks!
Old 07-10-2001, 11:05 AM

Would anyone be willing to look at their discs on both sides of the car and let me know if you notice any grooves/etchings? Please? I would really appreciate it before I take it to the dealer. Thanks!
Old 07-10-2001, 11:07 AM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Front or Rear?
Old 07-10-2001, 11:10 AM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Oh wait I can't check...its in the shop
Old 07-10-2001, 11:32 AM
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
No grooves on my rotors

Or on the Acuras where I work. I checked the TL and CL out in the parking lot and they are no different. However, it's odd that you have them both front and rear.

How deep are the grooves? Do they look machined or do they look like they don't belong there? Are they centered on the surface?
Old 07-10-2001, 02:49 PM