Go easy on me, first timer...

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2008 | 04:26 PM
Three Wheelin'

Angry Go easy on me, first timer...

Okay, so I have had my 2003 silver Tl-S for just under 2 months now and this is my first time posting. Bought used from a lot with just under 80k and love the damn car. I been reading the tranny horror stories and got worried so I gave Acura a call to see what was up with mine. Apparently there has already been a a recall done on my vehicle and I am no longer covered by any recall unless it has the extended warranty that I do not have. That is some bull!!!! Now I am know this has been covered about 30 times a day but I need to vent, i felt my car down shift a little to hard the other day on deceleration and am now starting to get paranoid. I am starting to consider selling it before it goes all bad, im just not trying to get stuck with a $4k tranny job, I didn't expect this from an Acura, main reason they bought me over was because I thought they were dependable. I love this car but cannot afford to keep it if the tranny is indeed going out. Am I the only one feeling this way? Thanks for listening and the site is off the hook.
Old 11-10-2008 | 04:31 PM
I have dead hookers in

hard shifts are normal if the tranny and engine are cold. I think you are freaking out over nothing. If your 02 only has 80K on the odo then you are still covered and have nothing to worry about. If it goes out they fix it. I just rolled over on 90K yesterday and mine is running beautifully. Just relax and enjoy the car. If it continues to show signs of a bad tranny then take it to the dealer
Old 11-10-2008 | 04:35 PM
Low & Slow w/Dubz On My

Tom?....
Old 11-10-2008 | 04:36 PM
Instructor

1. The said recall has nothing to do with tranny failure.

2. Check your VIN with Acura and see if your tranny is covered under the extended warranty. I think you should still have couple years left on that, provided that yours is not a salvaged title.