ECU ERROR READING 2000 Acura TL

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2018, 08:08 PM
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ECU ERROR READING 2000 Acura TL

Hello, I warn in advance I’m not a mechanic. Just a mom with low budget to repair my college students 2000 TL w/135,000. The car has run great over the last year, but occasionally would have a hesitation while driving, as if it lost power but would then accelerate and drive fine. Twice it would not start, but after it sat a while, it would start and run fine. The issue is/was intermittent. We have taken it to three different mechanics.
Two told us they couldn’t find anything. We would have to drive it and bring it back when the problem recurred.
One shop got misfire code #1,4,and 5. He cleared code and car ran fine. he removed egr valve checked for clogged ports and reinstalled. Told us to see if it helped. He told us while it was unlikely these issues were causing the problem the following items should be corrected:
Engine has 2 broken engine mounts,
rear main seal is leaking oil.
Transmission fluid was dirty
That was a year ago
my husband recently discover the drivers side floor had a large wet spot, he assumed some fluid was leaking inside the car. We took it to mechanic who told us he thought it was water from somewhere, maybe the windshield. We can’t find any water leaks near windshield and have had no more wet carpet.
Couple weeks ago the car began running very rough, loss of power, seemed like it didn’t want to go in gear between 2nd 3rd. Check engine, tcs lights came on. My husband thought it was transmission, took it to transmission shop who told us the computer was bad, they couldn’t get reading. We would have to get it fixed before they could help us. When we went to pick it up, battery was dead. They jumped it off, car ran great for few days. Mean while