Another TL Cautionary Tale

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2002, 07:44 PM
Senior Moderator

Received 4,613 Likes on 2,193 Posts
Another TL Cautionary Tale

It only took one second to cause $13k in damage.

I'd gone to meet another TL.com-er 3 days ago to test his Comptech springs (feel wonderful, I'll do that eventually). I was driving in a parking lot, recognized him, waved, turned the car toward him at normal parking lot speed while looking at his beautiful TL-S, and....wham! The next thing I remember, my glasses were in the back seat, both airbags deployed. The left front corner of my TL had hit a concrete lamppost. The only thing hurt was my ego and my confidence in my driving skills. My brand-new (3200 miles, 2 months old) TL is wrecked. If you don't mind, I won't post pictures, it still smarts too much to look at them.

I'm a safe driver and usually very attentive. I'm a guy who'll hang up on you if I'm driving in an unsafe situation with my cell phone. It's embarrassing to admit to a parking lot accident that was clearly my fault, but I only bring it up to remind people once again that even the best drivers f**k up sometimes, and that all it took was having my eyes off the road for ONE second...in a PARKING LOT!.

The damage is to the hood, bumper, grille, left front fender, and suspension. There goes my cheap auto insurance! And I'll be without my TL (minimum) one month. As penance, I am driving a lowly, rented Saturn SL2 for the month. Not bad, but the seats suck and the engine sounds like a lawnmower.

Be careful out there, guys!
Old 02-06-2002, 07:57 PM
Purchased: April 28, 2001

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
HOLY CRAP! I keep thinking to myself that there is a reason for everything and that I must of done something bad in the past and not realize it for it to come back and bite me in the ass. But now you too! Tsk tsk....I dont know what to say. Perhaps bad karma?
Old 02-06-2002, 07:59 PM
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts