Trans and rear diff !!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2009 | 01:17 PM
rtr
RL owner

Trans and rear diff !!!

Change your fluids WOW when i got my rl the oils were dark and looked like need to be changed but everyone says wait till the check engine light comes on? Im a mechanic and have a lot of experence with oil. It looked bad to me and the dealer said wait but thats dumb! I have never seen oil to last more than 30000 km's in the trans or 3500 km's for the engine. Sure enough i told the dealer i don't care if there is no light change it!! Now the car feels waaaay better don't forget your PCV valve. My oil test is take a look at what your oil looks like NEW and when you check your oil pull the dip stick and wipe it sideways on a paper towel and note the color, smell, and small particals. Oil only lasts if it is in good shape if it looks diss colored and so on change it. It will only make your car last longer now that would suck. lolol
Old 01-22-2009 | 03:58 PM
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by rtr
Change your fluids WOW when i got my rl the oils were dark and looked like need to be changed but everyone says wait till the check engine light comes on? Im a mechanic and have a lot of experence with oil. It looked bad to me and the dealer said wait but thats dumb! I have never seen oil to last more than 30000 km's in the trans or 3500 km's for the engine. Sure enough i told the dealer i don't care if there is no light change it!! Now the car feels waaaay better don't forget your PCV valve. My oil test is take a look at what your oil looks like NEW and when you check your oil pull the dip stick and wipe it sideways on a paper towel and note the color, smell, and small particals. Oil only lasts if it is in good shape if it looks diss colored and so on change it. It will only make your car last longer now that would suck. lolol