Attn HIGH MILEAGE RL OWNERS - How has your car held up?

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2009, 02:39 PM
Burning Brakes

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Attn HIGH MILEAGE RL OWNERS - How has your car held up?

I was at my local acura dealer last week having my headlight repaired and I asked the service advisor who I've now known for 6 years if the RL is the kind of car I could drive for hundreds of thousands of miles with proper maintenance. He replied "you can't maintain computers" "sell it before your warranty expires" "a mercedes repair bill is a drop in the bucket compared to the rl" "if you keep the car you'll be helping fund my retirement". So this got me to think. He's right you can't maintain computers. I work with computers for a living and computers suck. And why would someone in service want me to buy another new car. New car's require much mess maintenance and repairs.

So far beyond all the regular maintenance. I have had to have the following items repaired since I purchased the car with 48k miles 2 years ago:
AC Compressor - 49k mi covered under original warranty
Headed seat button - 52k covered under ext warranty
Computer memory needed to be flashed - 55kmi covered under ext warranty
Rear sunshade rattling 60k cost $270
Headlight bulb - 80k mi cost $225
Headlight ballast - 80k covered under ext warranty
Headlight igniter - 80k covered under ext warranty

So this brings me to my question. Those with VERY high mileage, how has your car held up??
Old 08-09-2009, 03:23 PM
2020 Acura RLX Advance

Received 178 Likes on 100 Posts
I only have 65k on my CPO 06 RL CMBS.

I did put 183k on my 03 CL-S. Only major expense was the Xenon headlamp ballast (?) at about 165k. I do know the 05's (RL) had more than their fair share of electrical gremlins (and A/C compressors) but many posters on this board said the dealer's were able to take care of them with software updates.